For Your Information: Flaxseed

Sorry I’ve been MIA for 2 days. I’ve been quit the social butterfly!

Today I want to introduce For Your Information.

Occasionally, I plan to share with your For Your Information posts; a little note about the health benefits of certain foods. I promise, nothing too long or drawn out! I just believe we should know about the foods we consume and what they do for our bodies.

Flaxseed

It’s really important for me to get enough fats in a day since my diet is so plant based. Adding 1 tbsp. of flaxseed oil to my smoothies or soups helps my weight stay at a healthy number AND provides me with these health benefits:

  • Helps aid with constipation
  • Prevents heart disease
  • Balances hormones (a year of being sick really throws your hormones out of wack)
  • Healthy dose of omega-3’s! – hello good cholesterol, goodbye bad cholesterol.
  • Fights bacteria, fungus and viruses

Flaxseeds taste a bitty nutty but overall have a  very subtle flavor.

These days, you can find it at your local grocery store most likely in the health foods section. You can use ground flaxseed as an egg-replacement in baking, garnish salads, chicken or rice with flaxseeds or blend the oil into smoothies, soups and sauces!

Make flaxseeds your friend!

Leave a comment

Filed under Health

Leave a Reply

