Smoothie Love

I just can’t help myself!

It could be negative 20 degrees outsides and I will still be craving a cold, silky smoothie. And I will a make a smoothie, and eat a smoothie even when the temperatures do hit negative 20.

….it’s not likely to get that cold here in Nashville Thank you Jesus! – I’m a Chicago born girl. Cold weather and I are no longer friends

Like I’ve mentioned before, I always start with a green – either kale or spinach.

Why you ask?

These bad boys are packed with Vitamin K, Vitamin C, beta carotene, Vitamin A and iron(!!!) Hello immune buster!

In short, they keep your body strong and able to fight off illness like the common cold. They’re even proven to help fight cancer.

Back to smoothie making

I pack my blender with 4 cups of greens, usually add a couple slices of zucchini squash because I think it helps make my smoothie extra smooooth. I also put in whatever super powders I’m feeling for the day (more on that later).  Next up, some form of liquid. I usually just use water. Toss in a couple of ice cups for good measure and blend away! I like to blend my greens up first to really break them down. Trust me, a chunky green smoothie will not be appealing to anyone!

After my greens have been pulverized, I add in my fruit! Lately that’s been pears, cantaloupe or honeydew!

Get creative! In today’s morning smoothie, I added fresh mint! YUMMmm.

Once my smoothie is well blended, I pour it into a bowl (usually) and top it with any of the following:

  • Honey
  • Almond Butteror nut butter of choice
  • Coconut Butter
  • Cereal
  • Granola
  • Nuts
  • Dried Fruit

Consume. With a spoon. In your bed. Under many layers of covers. With a cup of coffee.

You just can’t go wrong my friends. Start adding a green smoothie to your weekly routine and I promise you’ll start noticing an extreme energy boost!

EAT YOUR GREENS! 🙂


Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Health

Leave a Reply

