Thanksgiving for One!

For the past couple weeks, I’ve been dreaming of baking something sinful in the kitchen. Yesterday afternoon, I finally did it!

After seeing Angela’s Buttery Apple Streusel Oat Squares, I knew I must do my own variation on an apple streusel. But, once I saw my bag of dried apricots in the cabinet, I had a change of heart. They were sitting there looking so lonely because I haven’t given them much attention. Thus, I spent my Sunday afternoon making this

It was actually a trial run for Thanksgiving. I’m going home to Illinois to spend it with my family. We’re doing a pot luck sort of meal. …Except for the fact that all dishes will be made the day of, at my sister’s since everyone will be traveling in the night before.

I made my own adjustments to Angela’s oat base recipe based on what I had in the kitchen. For the filling, I soaked dried apricots in warm water for 30 minutes then boiled them in their liquid on the stove stop for 10 minutes. After they had softened a good bit, I put them in the blender. They were pretty sweet on their own but I had already made a mixture of honey, melted Earth Balance and a chia egg (1 part chia seeds to 4 parts water, soaked). I added the two together and poured it on top of my crust.

For the struesel topping, I more or less followed Angela’s directions.

I don’t mess around

No words!

Mission accomplished! I think the family is going to love it come Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert, Holidays

Leave a Reply

